3 new dinosaurs

Dinosaurs were animals, closely related to crocodiles and birds, that lived in the Mesozoic era between 220 and 65 million years ago. All dinosaurs had four limbs, lived on land and breathed air.

Queensland's Age of Dinosaurs spans three geological Periods, the Triassic, Jurassic and the Cretaceous Period, which includes some of the world's oldest evidence for dinosaurs.

During the time that Queensland dinosaurs roamed the land, swimming reptiles such as plesiosaurs, pliosaurs and ichthyosaurs dominated the seas. Their remains were preserved in rocks in central and western Queensland - site of a vast inland sea 100 million years ago.

Sauropods (long-necked plant-eating dinosaurs)

Theropods (meat-eating dinosaurs)

Ankylosaurs (armoured dinosaurs)

Ornithopods (plant-eating dinosaurs)

Giant Marine Reptiles

Queensland Museum's Find out about... is proudly supported by the Thyne Reid Foundation and the Tim Fairfax Family Foundation.